IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

IN RE: AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES CASE NO. SC20-1543 REGULATING THE FLORIDA BAR 5-1.1(g) TASK FORCE ON DISTRIBUTION OF IOTA FUNDS RESPONSE TO REQUEST FOR SUR REPLY

The Task Force on Distribution of IOTA Funds (the task force) respectfully responds to the March 15, 2021 Motion for Leave to File Reply to Response Filed by the Task Force to Comments Filed by Interested Parties.

The task force has no objection to the request to respond, provided the response is brief and responds solely to the 2 changes to the task force proposed rule: (1) to clarify that a loan-repayment program would qualify as compensation to lawyers providing direct legal services; and (2) that technology and training costs incurred to directly facilitate a qualified service provider providing direct legal services to civil litigants are not subject to the cap on administrative expenses. No additional commentary or response should be allowed by sur-reply or otherwise, as these matters have been fully briefed in this case and thoroughly vetted by the task force during the course of its work. Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Mayanne Downs

Mayanne Downs, Chair Florida Bar Number 754900 GrayRobinson P.A. 301 E. Pine Street, Suite 1400 Orlando, FL 32801-2741 Telephone: (407) 244-5647 mayanne.downs@gray-robinson.com

> SC20-1543 Task Force on Distribution of lota Funds Response to Request for Sur Reply March 24, 2021 Page 2

CERTIFICATE OF TYPE SIZE AND STYLE

I certify that this response is typed in 14 point Arial type.

/s/ Mayanne Downs

Mayanne Downs, Chair Florida Bar Number 754900

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of this motion has been sent by e-mail to the following individuals on this 24th day of March, 2021: Chris W. Altenbernd; Rob Bradley; Steven L. Brannock; Michael M. Brownlee; Raoul Cantero; Christopher Carlyle; Gerald B. Cope, Jr.; John A. DeVault; Raymond T. Elligett, Jr.; Kristen M. Fiore; Christine B. Gardner; Katherine E. Giddings; Bryan S. Gowdy; Thomas D. Hall; Bailey Howard; Samantha Howell; Torri D. Macarages; John B. Macdonald; John S. Mills; Anthony C. Musto; George E. Schulz, Jr.; Elliot H. Scherker; Jodi Siegel; Radhika M. Singh; Sylvia H. Walbolt; Dineen Pashoukos Wasylik; Peter D. Webster

/s/ Mayanne Downs

Mayanne Downs, Chair Florida Bar Number 754900

> SC20-1543 Task Force on Distribution of lota Funds Response to Request for Sur Reply March 24, 2021 Page 3